Learning & Liberty Foundation of Fremont City Schools

Learning & Liberty Foundation of Fremont City Schools

About the Foundation

The Learning & Liberty Foundation is a foundation governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of school officials and members of the community. The purpose of the foundation is to enrich and enhance the educational opportunities which are provided by Fremont City Schools Board of Education. The articles of incorporation and bylaws serve as guides for the operation of the foundation.

Mission Statement

It is the mission of The Learning and Liberty Foundation of the Fremont City Schools to enhance the learning process, increase educational opportunities and encourage instructional innovation and creativity by generating and distributing financial and other resources. The objectives of The Learning and Liberty Foundation are:

  1. To enhance educational programs and classroom instruction in the Fremont City Schools. Grant proposals will be reviewed by the foundation’s board of trustees within the stated purposes of the foundation.
  2. To provide opportunities for organizations, businesses, foundations and individuals to contribute time, energy, expertise, money and other resources to The Learning and Liberty Foundation of the Fremont City Schools.
  3. To invest and manage a permanent fund (for use of interest only) which will be of increasing value to the Fremont City Schools. This fund will provide enduring resources for the proposed programs, ideas and school projects designed to benefit the Fremont City Schools.

Board of Trustees

Jon C. Detwiler, Chairperson Tracy Lytle, First Vice Chairperson Charles E. Hull, M.D., Second Vice Chairperson Robert L. Overmyer, Treasurer Gena Hineline, Secretary Lori Bloom, Trustee Suzanne Brickner, Trustee Arthur Bucci, Jr., Trustee Melissa Hanson, Trustee Paul Hershey, Trustee Nancicarol Woleslagel, Trustee

Activities and Sponsorships

Students of the Month

The Learning & Liberty Foundation and Old Fort Banking Company are proud sponsors of the “Students of the Month” program. Students in grades 1-8 are selected by classroom teachers and recognized during FCS Board of Education Meetings throughout the academic year.

Ross High School Scholarships

The Learning & Liberty Foundation awards scholarships to seniors on an annual basis. Congratulations to the 2021 scholarship recipients:

  • Rachel Haitonic - Ross High Scholarship
  • Trenton Ward - Ross High Scholarship
  • Abigail Nagy - David B. Brickner Scholarship
  • Ethan Beardmore - Ross High School Positive Attitude Scholarship
  • Rachel Haitonic - Ross High School Positive Attitude Scholarship

Academic Olympics

Each year students in grades 6-12 are recognized by The Learning & Liberty Foundation for academic excellence. Students are recognized based upon grade point averages during awards programs and receive academic pins/charms, certificates and bronze, silver and gold medals. The Gold Medal Banquet is held on an annual basis in order to recognize high school students with a cumulative 4.0 grade point average over the two semesters of the school year. Thank you to Croghan Colonial Bank and The Learning & Liberty Foundation for sponsoring this event. The 2019 Gold Medal Recipients are as follows:

Mollie Alliman, Elizabeth Biller, Mattie Billow, Dion Bradley, Mara Brown, Rebecca Burns, Kian Collins, Dominik Cross, Ethan Druckenmiller, Noah Eberly, Brianna Fick, Alex Flores, Bryson Fox, Conner Frost, Micah Garcia, Thomas Gluth, Brandon Graves, Rachel Haitonic, Nevaeh Hawthorne, Cyrus Hines, Rebecca Holland, Carley Hottinger, Rebecca Jahns, Abby Jesso, Aileana Jones, Rayin Jordan, Kylee Lawrence, Sylvia Levario, Hayley Mancini, Brinneth Michael, Emily Miller, Lucy Miller, Abigail Nagy, Marcela Perez, Jayden Ruiz, Jenna Ruiz, Bryanna Schermerhorn, Hailey Stearns, Ellyson Stotz, Audia Swain, Jonathan Szymanowski, Naya Trejo, Hannah Widman, Paige Willer, Nathanael Witt, Brady Wolfe, Hailey Young, Faith Zimmerman, Lauren Zimmerman

FCS Grant Opportunities

The Learning & Liberty Foundation awards instructional grants to teachers for a maximum of $500.00. Grants are intended to enhance the learning opportunities in the classroom by providing resources for the creative teachers for a long-term project or special learning activities.

FCS Teacher Grant Opportunities

The Learning and Liberty Foundation extends appreciation to our
2021-2022 Donors:

The Family of David Brickner, Croghan Colonial Bank, Crown Battery, Mosser Construction, Old Fort Banking Company, Jennifer Abdoo, Christina French, Richard LaFountain, Randall Macko, Tamara Martin, Lori Nossaman, Robert and Anne Overmyer, Erin Parker, Regina Reed, Rhonda Schmidt, Denise Sloma, Bridget Smith, Christine Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Tom Woleslagel.